Perspective of a Christian Foster Parent

In 2014, we experienced several changes in our home and in our hearts: Part 2 (read part 1 here)

.

If you’ve been to SeaWorld, you are familiar with the “splash zone” (a.k.a. soak zone). Part of the show involves a giant killer whale intentionally splashing the audience with water.

sins_splash_zone

At these attractions, many people purposefully sit close to the action (some even wear rain ponchos). Others sit way up top, enjoying the show while avoiding the water.

A few months ago I told my husband that, as a foster family, I often feel like we are in the “splash zone.”  We are close enough to hurting families that we, too, feel the consequences of their choices.

It can be slippery and dangerous in the splash zone.

It’s interesting to me that in the Bible, immediately after chronicling the Heroes of Faith in Hebrews 11, the writer says in Hebrews 12:

Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.

Sin so easily entangles us all, doesn’t it?

Even in faith and obedience, we need to be reminded that we live in a broken world. Remain on this course while keeping your gaze on the Savior. He is perfect, yet He stayed near sinners while on earth. He knows what it’s like to be in the splash zone.

As the Church gets close to our hurting neighbors, we see first hand that the Enemy devalues family. Satan does everything he can to pull families apart. He is like a giant killer whale. And foster families are getting drenched.

I get weary of being wet.  To be honest, I often want to move to the top row.

So I turn to the One who does not grow weary:

Do you not know? Have you not heard?
The Everlasting God, the Lord, the Creator of the ends of the earth
Does not become weary or tired.
His understanding is inscrutable.
He gives strength to the weary,
And to him who lacks might He increases power.
Though youths grow weary and tired,
And vigorous young men stumble badly,
Yet those who wait for the Lord
Will gain new strength;
They will mount up with wings like eagles,
They will run and not get tired,
They will walk and not become weary. 

              -The Bible, Isaiah 40:28-31 (NASB)

Our particular family is not anything special. We know we are actually quite ordinary. We are weak, in fact.  And YET the Defender of the fatherless says: “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness” (2 Cor. 12:9).

This is where God has called our family for now. To remain in the splash zone.

.

.

Lord, I come, I confess
Bowing here I find my rest
Without You I fall apart
You’re the One that guides my heartLord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need YouWhere sin runs deep Your grace is more
Where grace is found is where You are
And where You are, Lord, I am free
Holiness is Christ in meLord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

Teach my song to rise to You
When temptation comes my way
And when I cannot stand I’ll fall on You
Jesus, You’re my hope and stay

Lord, I need You, oh, I need You
Every hour I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

You’re my one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You
My one defense, my righteousness
Oh God, how I need You

.

.

.

– – – –

Elaine and her husband, Joey, are licensed as an adoptive family and foster home in Ohio. Learn more about Joey and Elaine.

 

.

.

.

.

.

 

