conversations with our toddler

So, back in the day, I studied linguistics. I thought that some day I might go into translation work. (This, of course, was after I changed my major five times . . ..) By my senior year of college, I had completed a lot of research (and written a lot of papers) on language acquisition in children as well as gender-specific instruction. Sure, I had been around a lot of kiddos, but this was mostly the stuff of theories and text books.

Now, as a mommy nearly ten years later, language acquisition is important to me but I don’t think about the technicalities from day-to-day. I know that, ultimately, interaction is fundamental to language learning. Interestingly, by the age of three, 86 to 98 percent of words in a child’s vocabulary are words that his or her parents say (S.B. Neuman).

This is not news to you, I’m sure.

Still, those little minds can amaze us — they remember so much and make connections quickly! Lately, I’ve been laughing at the things Moriah says, like when she told me, “My belly button growling.” Ok, sis. Let’s go get a snack.

.

On the drive home from church this weekend:

Me: Did you have a good time in the nursery tonight with Michelle and Mrs. Pam?
Moriah: Ham?
Me: Michelle and Mrs. PAM.
Moriah: I did not eat ham.
Me: Sis, listen: HHHam is what you eat. I’m saying PPPam.
Moriah: Pam.
Me: Yes.
Moriah: Oh, yes.

That ended our conversation for a few minutes until she broke the silence.

.
Moriah: MY SHART!! I lost my shart!
Me: [silent… trying to figure out what that is]
Moriah: Mom, where’s my shart?!
Me: Your shirt?
Moriah: My shart.
Me: [silent]
Moriah: My shart on my head. My shart.
Me: Your scarf? I have it in my purse. You took it off and gave it to Michelle.
Moriah: [silent and satisfied]

.
I love conversing with a toddler. She is learning so much each day.

.

.

Here are a few photos from putt-putt in August that I shared on Instagram but haven’t shared here yet:

IMG_0027a IMG_9957a IMG_9965a

.

.

– – – –

Elaine and her husband, Joey, are licensed as an adoptive family and foster home in Ohio. Learn more about Joey and Elaine.

 

.

.

.

